Time’s a ticking.

In just a few weeks time, I will be back in the United States…47 days to be exact. Though I do not want to count down the time, it is impossible to not think of the little time I have here left. It seems as though the topic has worked its way in to every discussion this past week, like all the sudden everyone has realized that my time here is limited. Last week as I was sitting down to dinner with my host mom and brother, the topic came up. My brother became very quiet all of the sudden and quickly tried to change the topic. Later that night, we were outside playing on the trampoline, and he came up and gave me a hug. When I asked what was up, he replied with “nothing” and so we went on jumping just as we had done before. Two more times he came up and hugged me, and two more times I asked him what was up. Except the third time when I asked, he didn’t reply. He just simply stood there hugging me. So I asked, “Are you worried about me leaving…will you miss me?” That is when he replied with a simple “yes.” That was all he had to say for me to understand his message.
Although in June I will be the one leaving Germany, and I will be the one that will return to the United States, and my journey here will be over…not much attention has been directed towards the way my family’s time with be coming to an end too. It will probably be just as hard for my brother to say goodbye as it will be for me. Not only will I be saying goodbye to my family but to the lifestyle I had. Although my time here will be over, it is not the end because my time here has been too monumental for its impact to be complete.

Well, enough of that…now to what I have been up to since the last time I blogged. Though I have been quite busy, thus the reason I have not blogged in so long, I want to make this blog post short and simple. I have decided to just post some pictures I have taken to pull you guys up to date. Enjoy!

Spring Break in Copenhagen

Spring Break in Copenhagen

Dinner in Copenhagen with the family!

Dinner in Copenhagen with the family!

Copenhagen

Copenhagen

Copenhagen

Copenhagen

Crazy photos with Shirley in Flensburg.

Crazy photos with Shirley in Flensburg.

Didn't want to wait for the bus...walked home from school. The amount of time it took me.

Didn’t want to wait for the bus…walked home from school. The amount of time it took me.

Brother's birthday party

Brother’s birthday party

Taught my brother's class how to play kickball.

Taught my brother’s class how to play kickball.

Scenery on my bike ride home from school.

Scenery on my bike ride home from school.

Host grandparents recently celebrated their 70th birthday together. We had a huge party.

Host grandparents recently celebrated their 70th birthday together. We had a huge party.

One of the games at the party.

One of the games at the party.

Well until next time (and probably the last),

Ash

We rebuilt the trampoline, and the weather is nice!

We rebuilt the trampoline, and the weather is nice!

One response to “Time’s a ticking.

Leave a Reply

